Learner Approved Motorcycle Scheme

On 1 October 2012, new rules came into effect within New Zealand that change the types of motorcycles learner and restricted licence holders can ride.

The rules, which aim to improve motorcycle safety, include the introduction of a new motorcycle rating system. The rating system, known as the Learner Approved Motorcycle Scheme (LAMS) is an initiative of the road safety strategy, Safer Journeys.

The Learner Approved Motorcycle Scheme (LAMS) identifies motorcycles that are considered suitable for riders on a Class 6 (motorcycle) learner or restricted licence. The scheme moves away from applying restrictions based on engine capacity alone to applying restrictions.

What motorcycles can a rider on a learner or restricted licence ride?

The scheme allows learner and restricted licence holders to ride motorcycles:

  • with a maximum power-to-weight ratio of 150 kilowatts per tonne AND
  • an upper engine capacity of 660cc AND
  • that are published on the approved list on the NZTA website

More information on the LAMs scheme and which bikes are officially approved can be found by visiting the New Zealand Transport Agency’s website by clicking here.

Competency-based Training and Assessment (CBTA)
New for 2014 is the Competency-based training and assessment (CBTA) offering motorcyclists another option when choosing how to get their motorcycle licence.

This option can reduce the amount of time it takes you to get your restricted or full motorcycle licence, while ensuring you have the skills and knowledge you need to ride safely on New Zealand roads.

You can choose between the driver licence testing regime and the competency-based training and assessment courses, or a combination of the two, to gain your restricted and/or full motorcycle licence. See the infographic below:

CBTA Infographic

More information on the CBTA can be found by clicking here to go to the NZTA website.

Learner Approved Yamaha Motorcycles

'Apply for Finance Online Apply for Finance Online